Farrer MP Sussan Ley has welcomed the appointment of Jenny McLeod, a Finley farmer and Manager of Policy & Communication with Coleambally Irrigation, to the new Advisory Group on water markets in the Murray–Darling Basin.

Mrs McLeod has been included in a group of technical experts, water market users and stakeholders* set to play a key role in developing reforms to improve the structure, governance and operation of water markets in the Basin.

Ms Ley said her irrigation communities clearly want a market which operates more effectively and efficiently, and certainly doesn’t burden them with unnecessary costs.

“By selecting representatives from across the Basin I am confident our government can deliver pragmatic and sensible reform which will benefit everyone, not just a select few.”

Mrs McLeod said she was looking forward to making a positive contribution to developing a reform road map, noting it is important this work results in practical and cost-effective solutions to improve the operation and transparency of the water markets.”

“I hope to bring to the Panel knowledge and experience from an irrigation infrastructure operator’s perspective, as well as from a family irrigation farm which interacts with the water market.”

*The Advisory Group includes…

• Jenny McLeod – Manager Policy and Communication, Coleambally Irrigation Cooperative Ltd
• Richard Anderson – Farmer, former Victorian Farmers Federation Water Council Chair
• Stuart Armitage – Farmer, former Queensland Farmers Federation President
• Rosalie Auricht – General Manager, Renmark Irrigation Trust
• Phil Grahame – General Manager, Ruralco Water
• Dr Andrew Stoeckel – Chief Economist at Centre for Regional Economic Development (NSW)
• Dave Appels – Economist at Frontier Economics
• Dr Peter Hendy – Chief Executive Officer at Peter Hendy Consulting

The roadmap will inform the Australian Government response to the Australian Competition Consumer Commission’s final inquiry report on Murray–Darling Basin water markets released in March 2021.

For more information about the Advisory Group and water market reform visit the department’s website.