The Commonwealth and NSW Governments today announced disaster assistance has been made available for seven additional flood affected communities across the state, including the local government areas of Murrumbidgee and Narrandera.

Minister for Justice Michael Keenan and NSW Deputy Premier and Minister for Justice and Police Troy Grant said the Australian and New South Wales Governments are committed to working together to ensure communities across the state have the assistance they need to recover.

“Through the jointly-funded Commonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA) we will continue to activate disaster assistance to support flood affected communities,” Mr Keenan said.

A range of assistance is now available to the affected communities of Bogan, Coolamon, Junee, Murrumbidgee, Narrabri, Narrandera, and Weddin.

Minister Grant said today’s announcement of additional assistance takes the total number of disaster declared local government areas to twenty-eight and will speed up the recovery process for many communities affected by the floods.

“We are closely monitoring the flood situation and will make assistance available to other communities as required to allow local governments to get on with the job of rebuilding as quickly as possible,” Mr Grant said.

Welcoming the announcement, Member for Farrer Sussan Ley said “this quick response by government provides important reassurance for our local area that the resources and support we will need to recover from this flooding event are ready to go.”

A fact sheet on Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements is here.

For information on personal hardship and distress assistance, contact the Disaster Welfare Assistance Line on 1800 018 444. To apply for a concessional loan, grant or freight subsidy, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit