Local government and towns across Farrer are now receiving their third quarterly payment through the Australian Government’s Financial Assistance Grant programme.

Local MP Sussan Ley said “the Commonwealth is providing $575 million to local councils nationwide this week, including over $15m across Farrer”.

“The Government is committed to supporting local communities deliver the services
and facilities they need”, with our local councils this week receiving:-

Albury City Council $1,558,273
Balranald Shire Council $827,714
Berrigan Shire Council $1,080,701
Broken Hill City Council $1,135,358
Central Darling Shire Council $1,112,094
Conargo Shire Council $661,241
Corowa Shire Council $1,126,921
Deniliquin Council $582,188
Greater Hume Shire $1,216,021
Hay Shire Council $656,212
Jerilderie Shire Council $561,103
Lockhart Shire Council $880,708
Mrray Shire Council $986,932
Silverton Village Committee $7,566
Tibooburra Village Committee $16,990
Urana Shire Council $455,803
Wakool Shire Council $897,185
Wentworth Shire Council $1,326,988

“It’s important to note councils are free to spend this untied grant money according to local priorities – on infrastructure, health, recreation, environment, employment and roads projects.”

“This regular economic assistance is much needed and it’s great to see some of the outcomes from this vital funding”, Ms Ley concluded.

Full details of the allocations to councils under the Financial Assistance Grant programme are available online