Federal Member for Farrer, Sussan Ley today welcomed the Commonwealth Government’s announcement that applications are now open for the 2016 Resilient Australia Awards.

Now in their 17th year, these awards are a national program to recognise and promote initiatives which strengthen community disaster resilience.

Ms Ley said disaster resilience is about making our communities safer, stronger and better prepared to manage natural disasters.

“In Farrer, we have witnessed first-hand the destructive impact natural disasters can have on residents and businesses in our rural and remote communities, and recognise the importance of working together to build resilience,” Ms Ley said.

“We already know just how resilient our local communities are, but natural disasters – whether they are floods or fires or other types of storm – challenge even the most innovative and spirited of our regions and can pose a challenge for communities to recover from.

“By celebrating innovation and best practice, the Resilient Australia Awards showcase work that is often unrecognised, inspiring others to think about how they can be more disaster resilient.”

Minister for Justice Michael Keenan said the Australian Government is proud to sponsor these awards with the states and territories, which will help communities to bounce back from the effects of future natural disasters.

“Whether you’re an individual or a group, the Australian Government wants to hear about how you have made your community safer, stronger and better prepared,” Mr Keenan said.

“I look forward to joining with the Member for Farrer to recognise and promote the vision, passion and hard work of this year’s applicants.”

The awards are open to all Australians – individuals, not for profit organisations, small and large businesses, local and state government, schools, education institutions, research bodies, and emergency service agencies.

Applications are open until 9 June 2016. For more information and to apply online go to https://resilient.awardsplatform.com/