Grants of $75,000 are now available for primary producers and $50,000 for small businesses in the Cootamundra-Gundagai, Goulburn Mulwaree, Greater Hume, Gwydir, Ku-ring-gai, Lake Macquarie, Muswellbrook, Narrabri, Oberon, Penrith, Sutherland, Tamworth, Upper Hunter, Upper Lachlan, Uralla and Wagga Wagga council areas.

Minister for Natural Disaster and Emergency Management David Littleproud said up to an additional $23.05 million had been made available to extend the community recovery assistance program under the jointly funded Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

“The recovery grants will help primary producers and small businesses in the recovery process to repair damaged equipment and fencing and replace stock,” Minister Littleproud said.

“Getting back to business is one of the best ways to recover.

“This will make sure businesses can open and people are back to work sooner.

“When money flows around a community it can help to speed up the whole recovery.

“$4.05 million will go to delivering mental health services for communities, volunteers and emergency services staff in these 16 new areas.

“The Federal Government will continue to stand by these communities until they’re back on their feet and will make further assistance available as it is needed.

“The bushfires in NSW have been devastating for many communities and we are committed to supporting them long-term.”

Deputy Premier and Minister Responsible for Disaster Recovery John Barilaro said every primary producer or small business affected by the fires in NSW will receive the support they need.

“The NSW and Commonwealth governments are committed to supporting bushfire affected communities and if we need to extend these community recovery measures to other areas we will do so,” Mr Barilaro said.

“Small businesses and farmers want to get back on their feet and it is critical for our communities that they get back to business as soon as possible.

“Small businesses and farmers that are ready to get going again can access these funds immediately and will be appointed a case manager through Service NSW who will be with them every step of the way.”

Minister for Emergency Services David Elliott said the full range of DRFA assistance was now available across all these local government areas.

“In addition to the funding for recovery grants and mental health support, $14 million is being provided for the NSW Bushfires Economic Recovery and Community Resilience Grants Program to deliver targeted assistance to community groups, local governments, industry groups and incorporated organisations for locally led recovery and resilience building activities. This includes $12 million for local government areas in south east NSW.”

“Communities in the Cootamundra-Gundagai, Goulburn Mulwaree and Wagga Wagga will also benefit from the extension of the wider DRFA community recovery assistance program to these areas,” he said.

Assistance measures available under the DRFA may include:

  • help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged;
  • support for affected local councils to help with the costs of restoring damaged essential public assets;
  • concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations;
  • freight subsidies for primary producers; and
  • grants to eligible non-profit organisations.

For further information contact the Bushfire Customer Care service on 13 77 88, or visit