More than 20,000 homes and businesses in the Farrer electorate have been added to the latest National Broadband Network’s (NBN) rollout timetable for the next three years.

NBN today updated its national rollout plans to 2018, which includes construction of fibre-to-the-node* access for over 50,000 premises in 32 local towns and municipalities across Farrer.

Included in the new update is the city of Broken Hill (9800 homes and businesses) along with the major regional centres of Deniliquin (3,200) and Corowa (2,850*).

Today’s announcement also confirms 2017 construction in Yarrawonga/Mulwala (1380*), Howlong (1200), Tocumwal (1200), Finley (1100), Cobram/Barooga (760*), Koondrook/Barham (730*) and Euston/Robinvale (260*), before the Murray river hamlets of Buronga and Gol Gol in early 2018.

Local MP, Sussan Ley, said she is particularly delighted Broken Hill is listed. “People across the Far West
have argued for better broadband connectivity; this delivers the certainty we are after and sees the NBN delivered much sooner than originally expected”.

“From growing families through to small and large businesses in Deniliquin, Corowa,
indeed every town on this list deserve the benefits super-fast broadband can bring, so this will really bolster our diverse and important rural communities.”

“Combined with the new NBN satellite service from early next year and the impressive fixed wireless network, most of Farrer will be hooked up to fast broadband by 2018 and I, for one, cannot wait.”

*Fibre-to-the-node (FTTN) provides broadband around 8-10 times quicker than average ADSL speeds
by running fibre to a neighbourhood node/pillar then using the existing copper network to connect to premises.

The full list of communities in the latest 3 year plan is here. You can also link to NBN regular updates for the latest information on build preparation, commencement and areas which are ready for service.